Lae_M

STEVEN POWELL SPOTLIGHT

In crime on June 11, 2012 at 5:30 am

I have been fascinated with crime fiction from the age of sixteen, ever since I stumbled across James Ellroy‘s American Tabloid in a bookshop while holidaying in south-west England. However, I would not formally study the genre until I began my PhD, returning, after an MA in Victorian Fiction to the author whose work had so defined my teenage years. While studying for my PhD,  Demon Dog: James Ellroy and the Narrative of Persona, I started a blog about crime fiction, The Venetian Vase, to express my more diverse interest in the genre. I have also edited two books and contributed a chapter to a monograph. Although these projects began at different stages of my PhD, they will all be published this year.  Conversations with James Ellroy, published by University Press of Mississippi, consists of a series of interviews Ellroy has given over the course of literary career and includes several interviews that I conducted with Ellroy personally. 100 American Crime Writers, published next month by Palgrave Macmillan, is an anthology of short, critical biographies of the most prominent and influential crime writers to emerge from the United States. My essay Betty Short and I Go Back: James Ellroy and the Metanarrative of the Black Dahlia Case was published in Cross-Cultural Connections in Crime Fiction, which was released by Palgrave Macmillan in May. I live in Liverpool, UK, with my wife Diana and our dog Henry, a Cavilier King Charles Spaniel.

Steven can be found on: http://venetianvase.co.uk/about/

Tomorrow, Steven will be entertaining us with his post “Killer on the Road: James Ellroy’s Forgotten Novel”. Don’t miss it!

  1. [...] I’ve written a piece on James Ellroy’s overlooked novel Killer on the Road for the blog LaeLand. The editor of LaeLand, Lae Monie, has also kindly published an author spotlight piece on me. You can read it here. [...]

Leave a Reply

